Bierfestens Euro Beer Tour 2012

Posted on August 31, 2012

2


Without doubt I’m an impulse decision maker on most things in Life, work, relationships and yeah even ‘Marriage’. Sometimes they work out for the best as you make a decision and just do it, and the consequences workout, and sometimes they don’t. 

The Beer Tour of 2012 is now Booked

In 2011 the tour was Bierfestens California Adventure with my drunk lawyer mate. The adventure was an amazing experience in Northern and Southern California bars. Not sure if my 60 bars in 3 weeks for my liver is still repaired yet?

So what is a Beer Whore Tour of Europe ? It is going to be a mix of relaxation like sitting back in Budapest for 5 days to hang out in those Roman Thermal Spa baths and look at those Castles, Churches and basically be in a country that doesn’t speak English and there are no Aussies hanging around me, no work to do. I have never been, but even that name alone is a cool ring to it “Buda Pest’. That is the non-beer centric time, though I have to admit that Rate Beer website has a few listings. Such as ‘Only Good Beer‘ so how can I go wrong ? 🙂

The flight from Frankfurt to Budapest cost me $90US and the flight from Budapest to Brussels cost $25. These are cheaper than nights out at craft beer bars in Sydney.

Belgium Beer Touring

This part of the trip is where I want to learn more than I know now. I was last in Belgium in 2010 and experienced a great time in both Belgium and Antwerpe, though I wasn’t a fan of Brugge. On this trip I have been reading a lot of James ‘Belgium Beer King‘ Website to learn from a True Master of Belgium beer. This site is a wealth of FREE information from a man who has done it and beer all over. I have even emailed him questions with his responses lengthy and comprehensive. I have never met him but I would buy him drinks all night when I do. 

Brussels –

Flying into Brussels means it makes sense to setup camp there for a few days, and visit a few bars in the city that I missed last time. I had a great experience at the Pink Delirium bar and their 2000 beers, and ‘Bier Circus’ where the owner takes you through a range of beers you have never heard of. I found some of these bars the most fun and enjoyable experiences in my life in a bar with ‘experts’ that live Beer. I have no problems blowing $100 a night in these beer mecca places as this is the schooling that you missed out when you were reading about shitty beer reviews.

Most people will avoid Brussels based on what I initially thought about it, as a dry business city, but I can highly recommend as a beer destination and one that I plan to spend a few nights in.

Other Beer Cities

In reviewing various cities to stop in and spend a night in, I am aiming to base myself in Brussels but then take day trips to places like ‘Beersel’, ‘Louven’ and I will definitely explore ‘Brugge’ and ‘Oostend’ as there are swarms of beer bars to explores.

As the trip draws closer I will expand on my list of must do cities and bars. I will be blogging/twitter along the way as long as there is ‘WIFI’.

Posted in: Belgium Beer